Awards and Recognition

Posted: January 18, 2010

Faculty, Staff, Students, and Alumni receive honors...

FASS Awards

The following individuals received national awards at the annual FASS meeting in Montreal:

  • Dale Olver – Teaching Award sponsored by Land O’Lakes, Purina Feed LLC
  • Jud Heinrichs – Forage Award sponsored by Pioneer Hi-Bred
  • Gabriella Varga - Nutrition Professionals Award from the American Dairy Science Association
  • Geoffrey Zanton – Graduate Student Published Paper Award sponsored by Alltech, Inc.
  • Daniel Rico – received third place recognition for his Graduate Student poster presentation.

College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Society 2009 Internship Awards

Three Animal Sciences students are among nine Penn State students who won College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Society 2009 Internship Awards. The award, which includes a $750 stipend, was established to encourage students to enroll in internship courses offered within the College.

  • Janelle Hartzell, daughter of George and Kathy Hartzell of Slippery Rock, PA, was an intern at AgChoice Farm Credit in Lewisburg, PA.
  • Amy Miller, of Hollsopple, PA, was an intern with the Golden Oaks Farm in Wauconda, IL.
  • Briana Mott, of Manlius, NY, was an intern with the Coolmore America/Ashford Stud in Versailles, KY.
  •  Jessica Tekippe, graduate advisee of Gabriella Varga, received the $2500 National Milk Producers Federation Dairy Leadership Scholarship. For the scholarship Jessica proposed her M.S. research project.

Gusdon Memorial New Investigator Award

Karen Racicot received the Gusdon Memorial New Investigator Award at the 29th meeting of the American Society for Reproductive Immunology in Orlando, FL, last summer. Her abstract was selected as one of five finalists, which were then judged as both posters and as platform talks at the meeting. Karen won out over scientists from Yale, Brown and Berlin.

This was the first time this award was given to a "large animal" scientist in a society comprised primarily of human biomedical scientists using rodent, human and primate models. The title of her abstract was: “Characterization of an MX1-positive population of exosomes secreted by uterine glandular epithelial cells.” 

Half Century Award

Dan Kniffen received the Half Century Award from the American Hereford Association on November 2 during the association’s national meetings in Kansas City, MO. The award is presented to Hereford breeders that have been involved in the production and breeding of Hereford cattle for over 50 years. 

Purdue University Awards

In November, Larry Muller , Professor Emeritus, received a Purdue University Distinguished Animal Sciences Alumni Lifetime Career Award for excellence in academia, leadership, and professional accomplishments. Bill Baumgardt , former department head in Dairy and Animal Science, also received a Lifetime Career Award from Purdue.

Saddle and Sirloin Club Membership

The prestigious Saddle and Sirloin Club recently inducted Louis “Mick” Colvin as its newest member at its Banquet and Portrait Presentation. The Saddle and Sirloin Club portrait collection consists of 341 oil portraits of exceptional agricultural leaders. For 106 years the club has recognized the impact of such leaders on agriculture by honoring them with this tradition. The collection of portraits began in the original Saddle and  Sirloin Club at the Union Stock Yards in Chicago, IL, in 1903.

Originally from Shellsburg, PA, Colvin earned a bachelor’s degree in animal husbandry from Penn State. Following his college years, Colvin began his purebred Angus career by becoming herdsman for Mole’s Hill Farm in Sharon, CT. After helping them earn three International Grand Champions and a National Western Champion, he quickly became a well-respected member of the Angus industry.

In 1963 Colvin became a field officer for the American Angus Association and later advanced to a regional manager, becoming more and more respected along the way. When he and his family decided to move to West Salem, OH, to start Colvin Angus Farm, he had become one of the top members of the American Angus Association.

When Certified Angus Beef LLC (CAB) began in 1978, Colvin became the leader of the program. CAB was the first to explore beef branding in the industry. One of Colvin’s accomplishments was USDA approval of the Certified Angus Beef® (CAB®) brand. During his 22 years as Executive Director of CAB, all major packers were licensed and the brand became well-known to the general public.

Extension Signal Service Award

William Henning, Professor Emeritus, received the Extension Signal Service Award from the American Meat Science Association for his lifetime achievements in meat science extension education.

Staff Awards

At the department’s holiday luncheon on December 16...

  • Cayce Walter received the Vern Hazlett Award for Outstanding Barn Worker
  • Michele Moyer received the award for Outstanding Staff Member.

Service awards were presented for years of service to the College of Agricultural Sciences as follows:

5 years

  • Nancy Dreschel

10 years

  • Harry Poorman
  • Cooduvali Shashikant
  • Donald Wagner

15 years

  • Glenn Myers

20 years

  • Dale Olver

30 years

  • Terry Etherton
  • Mike O’Connor
  • Jana Peters

35 years

  • Pat Alters